The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is the 4th energy centre and it’s located in the centre of the body. It’s Sanskrit name is Anahata which means “unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten” It’s a very complex chakra that represents transformation and integration. It connects the lower three chakras (physical) to the three upper chakras (spiritual).  This is where the physical and spiritual come together and is the core of our energetic frequency and the root of our emotional and energetic healing. It’s associated with unconditional love, compassion and joy and a source of deep profound truths that can’t be expressed in words. It also represents expansion, space and connection with all things. It is also connected with the sense of touch. Touch is an fundamental connecting experience for people this is why Massage Therapy is so important for one’s health as it’s through touch people are healed. It is through touch that our internal energy can be vibrationally communicated. Compassion and love are also communicated by hugging, kissing or holding hands. It’s colour is green but sometimes is seen as pink.

Colour: Green or Pink

Element: Air

Body Parts associated with the Heart Chakra: Heart, lungs, shoulders, upper back, circulatory system, immune system

Physical Imbalances:

Heart conditions, Lung disorders, Arm and hand injuries, Shallow breathing, Tension in between the shoulders, Rounded shoulders, Circulation problems

Connected with the sense of Touch

Signs when the Heart Chakra is Underactive:

  • Cold and closed behaviour
  • Depression
  • Lack of empathy and understanding
  • Lack of compassion
  • Struggles to be affectionate
  • Unable to recognise their true hearts desires
  • Judgemental and critical

Signs when the Heart Chakra is Overactive:

  • Co-dependency
  • Have extreme attachment to people and things
  • Clingy
  • Needy
  • Jealous
  • Lack boundaries
  • Suffer with high anxiety

Signs when the Heart Chakra is Balanced:

  • Loving
  • Understanding
  • Compassionate
  • Self-loving
  • Feel at peace
  • Self-accepting and of others
  • Giving and receiving in balance
  • Willingness to love and be loved
  • Ability to forgive

Childhood Trauma that can have an impact:

  • Rejection
  • Abandonment
  • Loss
  • Continued criticism
  • Unhealed unaccepted grief
  • Taught love is conditional
  • Seeking love and attention

How to Rebalance:

  • Wearing the colour Green
  • Having this colour in some home accessories
  • Using crystals: Rose quartz, Rhodochrosite, Emerald Rhodonite, Green Adventurine, Green Jade, Amazonite, Prehnite, Malachite
  • Essential Oils:Rose,Geranium, Cypress,Orange, Tangerine,Mandarin Sandalwood, Neroli, Melissa, Marjoram, Lemon, Yarrow, Eucalyptus, Jasmine, Chamomile, Lavender
  • Breathing exercises – Pranyama – it brings oxygen to the blood and brain
  • Arm and hand exercises
  • Chest openers – good for people who sit at a desk for long periods, improves rounded shoulders and foggy brain 15-20 min reps
  • Heart opening meditations
  • Daily giving and receiving practices – Random acts of kindness
  • Gratitude journals
  • Showing compassion towards strangers
  • Reiki Healing
  • Massage Therapy
  • Chanting the seed sound LAM

Many people have an underactive 4th energy centre. Life can send us a lot of heartbreak as a way to teach us lessons about ourselves and the world around us.  Some of us have built up walls and defences around us and it isn’t always easy to break them down but it all begins with self-acceptance and self-love.  Show some appreciation to yourself and be kind and give yourself the love that you want others to give to you then spread that compassion to those around you.

Share This Post!

Join the Massage and Wellness Mindset for advice on health tips, treatments and offers.

Courses of 3 treatments are available

Gift Cards available

Take some time. Treat yourself. You deserve it.